Diana Nyad, broadcast journalist, writer and record-breaking swimmer, will receive the distinguished Jack LaLanne Award at the upcoming IDEA World Fitness Convention, the largest global fitness event in the world, scheduled for August 13-17, 2014, at the Anaheim Convention Center. 

This prestigious award will be given to Nyad at the conference's opening ceremony on August 14, 2014, where she will also deliver the keynote address. The Jack LaLanne award is given to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution in the areas of fitness, nutrition and wellness by promoting the benefits of exercise and healthy eating, and who has inspired the world to fitness through his or her work in the media or public eye. 

Diana Nyad has enjoyed a long, successful career as journalist, author and athlete, but it was when she successfully fulfilled her life-long dream of completing the 100-mile swim from Cuba to Florida-her fifth and final attempt at the age of 64- which brought her the most glory. Upon completing her grueling 53-hour journey, a breathless Nyad told the world, "I have three messages. One is we should never give up. Two is you are never too old to chase your dreams. And three is it looks like a solitary sport, but it takes a team." Nyad epitomizes the spirit behind the Jack LaLanne Award and proves, like Jack, that you are never too old to test your mettle and pursue your dreams.

According to Kathie Davis, executive director of IDEA Health & Fitness Association, Nyad was chosen as this year's award recipient because she is an inspiration and a role model to people of all ages, specifically to Baby Boomers who want to stay fit and healthy in their later years. "As our population ages, we need people like Diana showing us that we are capable of living long, healthy, active lives without limitations." In addition to Nyad's keynote address, this year's IDEA World Fitness Convention will feature sessions focusing on Baby Boomer fitness. 

The Jack LaLanne Award was created in 2011 and was given posthumously to Jack LaLanne in its inaugural year. Previous recipients include Jane Fonda and Alberto "Beto" Perez, the creator of Zumba.